West Bengal elections in 8 phases from March 27, results on May 2

The dates of the West Bengal election were announced by the Election Commission on Friday.

New Delhi:

The West Bengal elections will be held in eight phases from March 27 to April 29, the Election Commission announced on Friday. The results will be announced on 2 May.

The eight voting days are March 27, April 1, April 6, April 10, April 17, April 22, April 26 and April 29. This will be the longest election in the state due to violence concerns.

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said that the model code of conduct will come into force with the announcement of dates.

West Bengal is set to witness a tough fight between a rising BJP and the state’s ruling Trinamool Congress.

The BJP has pulled out all the stops with Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah and frequent rallies to unite Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee.

While the BJP has gained remarkable momentum, investing money, time, and energy, the Trinamool termed it as an “outsider” party that does not understand West Bengal. The electoral campaign so far has been largely vitriolic.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here