Connect with us

Sports News

After Indian Premier League, Tata acquires title rights of Women’s Premier League




The Tata Group on Tuesday acquired the title rights of the inaugural Women’s Premier League, set to begin on March 4 in Mumbai. Can take women’s cricket to the next level,” tweeted BCCI secretary Jay Shah. The financials of the deal were not disclosed.

A BCCI source told PTI that Tata has acquired the rights for five years. The Indian multinational conglomerate replaced Vivo as the title sponsor of the Indian Premier League last year. The first edition will be played at two venues in Mumbai – the Brabourne Stadium and the DY Patil Stadium.

BCCI got Rs 951 crore from the sale of media rights and five teams were sold for Rs 4700 crore. Indian opener Smriti Mandhana got the highest bid of Rs 3.40 crore in the auction held earlier this month.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) recently announced the Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023 schedule after the conclusion of the Women’s Premier League auction in Mumbai. In its inaugural edition, five teams – Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Giants, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore and UP Warriors – shelled out some of the best talent in the international and domestic circuit.

India’s Smriti Mandhana was the top buy as she was bought by Royal Challengers Bangalore for Rs 3.40 crore. Team India captain Harmanpreet Kaur was bought by Mumbai Indians for Rs 1.80 crore while rest of the stars from India and around the world also made it to one of the five franchises.

Among overseas players, Australia all-rounder Ashleigh Gardner and England all-rounder Natalie Sciver were the top buys as they were bought by Gujarat Giants and Mumbai Indians for Rs 3.20 crore respectively. Among the India U19 stars, ICC U19 T20 World Cup-winning captain, Shafali Verma was the top buy, bought by Delhi Capitals for INR 2 crore.

In its first season, the Women’s Premier League will feature a total of 20 league matches and 2 playoff games which will be played over a period of 23 days.

The league will begin with a blockbuster clash between Gujarat Giants and Mumbai Indians on March 4 at the DY Patil Stadium.

Sunday, March 5, 2023, will be the first double-header day of the WPL, where Royal Challengers Bangalore will square off against Delhi Capitals at CCI’s Brabourne Stadium. UP Warriors will play their first match of the league against Gujarat Giants at DY Patil Stadium in the evening.

There will be 4 double headers with the first match starting at 3:30 PM IST. All the matches of the evening will start at 7:30 pm IST.

There will be a total of 11 matches at Mumbai’s DY Patil Stadium and Brabourne Stadium.

The final match of the league stage will be played between UP Warriors and Delhi Capitals on March 21 at CCI’s Brabourne Stadium.

The Eliminator will be played on March 24 at the DY Patil Stadium.

The final of the Women’s Premier League 2023 will be played at the Brabourne Stadium on 26 March.

featured video of the day

Young girls who eat, sleep and dream of cricket

topics covered in this article