Connect with us

Sports News

Babar Azam to lead Pakistan in Asia Cup, Hasan Ali given ‘break from international cricket’



The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Wednesday announced its 16-man squad for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League matches against the Netherlands and a 15-man squad for the ACC T20 Asia Cup from August 16-21. United Arab Emirates from 27 August to 11 September. Fast bowler Naseem Shah has been included in the squad in place of Hasan Ali, while Salman Ali Agha, who toured England for ODIs in 2021, has been recalled.

Shaheen Shah Afridi has been retained in the ODI and T20I squads, and his rehabilitation program will be overseen by the team trainer and physiotherapist, who will also decide on his return to international cricket.

There will be five changes from the Netherlands ODI team to the ACC T20 Asia Cup squad. Abdullah Shafiq, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Haris, Salman Ali Agha and Zahid Mahmood will be replaced by Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed and Usman Qadir.

Chief selector Muhammad Wasim said in an official release: “We have made only the necessary changes. Both the tournaments are important to us and therefore, we have picked our best available players in consultation with the captain and the head coach.”

“Hasan has been given a break from international cricket and has been replaced by Naseem Shah. He is quick and can give more momentum to the fast bowling department, which already has Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jr., Shaheen Shah Afridi and Shahnawaz. Dahani is involved. Naseem hasn’t played any international white ball cricket, but he has shown with the red ball that he is an attacking option with good pace and controlled swing.”

The training camp for the players will run from August 6-11 in Lahore, during which they will also play two 50-over matches. The team will leave for Amsterdam in the early hours of Friday, 12 August. The T20I players will join the squad for the ACC T20 Asia Cup in Dubai on 22 August.



Pakistan squad for Netherlands ODI – Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafiq, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Junior, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani and Zahid Mehmood.

Pakistan squad for ACC T20 Asia Cup – Babar Azam (Captain), Shadab Khan (Vice-Captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Junior, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir.

Topics mentioned in this article