Connect with us

Sports News

Bengal and Lahore Qalandars to face off in T20 series in Namibia



The home teams of India and Pakistan will face each other after a gap of eight years. India’s Bengal team and Pakistan’s Lahore Qalandars will be the two teams that will take part in the four-team Global T20 Namibia series in September. While the host nation will be the third team, a South African side, whose name is yet to be decided, will be the fourth.

Given that no bilateral series between India and Pakistan has been played since January 2013 due to the rising political tensions between the two countries, fans of both sides get the chance to enjoy the cricket rivalry only during ICC events. Amidst all this, the face-off between Bengal and Lahore Qalandars will give fans another chance to enjoy some promising entertainment.

Significantly, Bengal has already declared its squad for the upcoming series to be held in Namibia. Abhimanyu Easwaran will lead the side which also includes Shahbaz Ahmed and Ishaan Porel.

Debabrata Das said, “The broadcaster came before our president (Avishek Dalmiya) for the tournament and invited us. We took the opportunity to play six-seven matches before the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy because we got a chance to play against a World Cup team. Can get it.” , Cricket Association of Bengal joint secretary as quoted by ESPNcricinfo.

“The ambition is that there are many young players who are playing in local cricket in Bengal and doing great with regards to T20s. So we are mostly sending those youngsters so that we can make our team for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Can you

“The team we are sending abroad is a new team. We want to see how they play, how they deal with this tournament.”


Here is the Bengal team for the Global T20 Namibia series:

Abhimanyu Easwaran (Captain), Abhishek Das, Ritwik Roy Chowdhury, Ranjot Singh Khaira, Shreyansh Ghosh, Karan Lal, Hrithik Chatterjee, Shreyan Chakraborty, Shahbaz Ahmed, Abhishek Porel (WK), Supradip Debnath (WK), Ishan Porel, Mukesh Kumar. Akash Deep, Soumyadeep Mandal, Ravi Kumar. Standbys: Ankur Paul, Pradipta Parmanik, Debopratim Halder, Siddharth Singh.

Topics mentioned in this article