Connect with us

Sports News

Formula 1 star Lewis Hamilton takes ownership stake in the NFL’s Denver Broncos



File photo of Lewis Hamilton© AFP

Seven-time Formula One world champion Lewis Hamilton has joined the ownership group of the NFL’s Denver Broncos, the team announced Tuesday. The Broncos struck a sale agreement with the Walton-Penner family in June, pending approval of ownership of the deal, which is expected next Tuesday. “Excited to join an incredible group of owners and be a part of the @Broncos story!!” Hamilton tweeted. “Honored to work with a world-class team and serve as an example of the value of more diverse leadership across all sports.”

The 37-year-old Englishman posted a photo of his dog wearing a Broncos scarf and shirt, saying “Roscoe already thinks he made the team”.

Wal-Mart store heir Rob Walton, his daughter Carrie Penner and son-in-law Greg Penner paid $4.65 billion to buy the Broncos, the largest sale price for any North American sports team.

Former US Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice was added to the ownership group last month and Hamilton, a record 103-time F1 race winner, is the latest high-profile investor.

“We are delighted to welcome seven-time Formula One World Champion Sir Lewis Hamilton to our ownership group,” Walton said in a statement.

“He is a champion competitor who knows what it takes to lead a winning team and is a fierce advocate for global equality, including his own sport.

“With over 100 race wins, Lewis is widely regarded as the most successful F1 driver of all time. His resilient spirit and standard of excellence will be an asset to the ownership group and the Broncos organization.”

The sale must be approved by at least 24 of the NFL’s 32 club owners in order to complete the purchase from the Pat Bolan Trust. Bolen bought the Broncos in 1984 and died in 2019.

The vote is likely only a formality and is scheduled for the owners’ meeting next week.


The Broncos won their third Super Bowl crown in 2016, but haven’t made the playoffs since. They lost 7-10 for the fifth consecutive season last year.

(This story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Topics mentioned in this article