Connect with us

Sports News

ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup: India head coach Hrishikesh Kanitkar heaps praise on Yash Dhull, young captain can decide for himself



India U-19 head coach Hrishikesh Kanitkar on Thursday heaped praise on skipper Yash Dhull, saying the young captain can take his own decisions and his instincts will keep him in a good position in the upcoming World Cup. India will lock horns against South Africa in their opening match of the Under-19 World Cup in Guyana on Saturday and then the side will lock horns against Ireland and Uganda on January 19 and 22. Yash Dhul also revealed that he looks up to Virat Kohli and loves the way India’s Test captain does his work on the field.

“The primary quality you must possess to be the captain of any team is that you must have respect for your team. Without him, you may be a good captain or player, but you will not be able to function. Kudos Found Respect to all our players,” said Kaneetkar during a virtual press conference.

“He is able to take tough calls on the field when needed, can’t be asked to act every time a captain. The captain needs to take his own decisions and Yash can do that. It’s very instinctive, Yash. Has fine instincts and is able to do justice to his work.”

Talking about Virat Kohli, Yash said: “Virat Kohli’s attitude on the field while batting and leading the team, that’s what I have and I try to work that way.”

India is the most successful team having won four titles in 2000, 2008, 2012 and 2018. India has also been runners-up in the previous edition of the tournament held in 2016 and in 2020 in New Zealand.


In the 14th edition of the tournament, 16 teams will compete for the trophy in 48 matches. The top two teams from each of the four groups in the format will advance to the Super League, while the remaining teams will join the plate over 23 days of competition. India Under-19 has been placed in Group B.

India team:Yash Dhul (Captain), Harnoor Singh, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, SK Rashid (Vice-Captain), Nishant Sindhu, Siddharth Yadav, Dinesh Bana (WK), Aaradhya Yadav (WK), Raj Angad Bawa, Manav Parakh, Kaushal Tambe, RS Hangargekar, Vasu Vats, Vicky Ostwal, Ravikumar, Garv Sangwan.

Topics mentioned in this article