India A vs New Zealand A, 1st Unofficial ODI: Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Sen As India A Thrash New Zealand A

India A vs New Zealand A, 1st Unofficial ODI: Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Sen As India A Thrash New Zealand A

Brilliant performances from medium pacers Shardul Thakur (4 for 32) and Kuldeep Sen (3 for 30) helped India ‘A’ take seven wickets against New Zealand ‘A’ in the first unofficial ODI on Thursday. Helped to win. The fast bowling of Thakur and Sen, sent to bat by India ‘A’ captain Sanju Samson, put the visiting team in trouble right from the start. At one point, New Zealanders looked in danger of being dismissed for less than 100, but Michael Rippon (61, 104 balls, 4 fours) and Joe Walker (36, 49 balls, 3 fours, 1 six) had some reguards. Action helped. He posted 167 in 40.2 overs.

The Sanju Samson-led side with the help of captain (31 not out, 1 four, 3 sixes) and Rajat Patidar (45, 41 balls, 7 fours) overhauled the target set by the Kiwis in 31.5 overs.

Openers Ruturaj Gaikwad (41, 54 balls, 3 fours, 2 sixes) and Rahul Tripathi (31, 40 balls, 4 fours) also made useful contributions.

Earlier, on a pitch that offered pace and bounce for the bowlers, Thakur dealt the first blow to Chad Bowes (10) with New Zealand ‘A’ for 14 in the third over. In his next over, he got Dane Cleaver (4) caught by Sen.

Sen dismissed Joe Carter (1) and Rachin Ravindra (10) in three balls to bowl the Kiwis out for 26 for 4.

In his next over, Sen dismissed Tom Bruce for zero to bundle out the opposition for 27 for 5.

Captain Robert O’Donnell and Sean Solia put in the task of reviving the innings and the latter took the score to 51 before being run out by Rishi Dhawan.

O’Donnell batted 39 off 21 before dismissing ‘Keeper Samson’. Logan one beak (1) from Kuldeep Yadav and New Zealand ‘A’ fell for 74 for 8.

Off-spinner Walker with Rippon and the two fought slowly but surely. Ripon was more cautious than these two and reached 50 in 82 balls after collecting runs.

Walker, the number 10 batsman, dismissed Shahbaz Ahmed at mid-wicket in the 29th over for the first six of the match.

The duo took the score past 150 and looked a few more good ones before a throw from Rajat Patidar took Walker out of the crease. The Ripon-Walker partnership for the ninth wicket scored 89 runs respectively and gave the total.

Ripon was dismissed for 61 at the hands of Thakur and the Kiwis were reduced to 167 runs.

In reply, Gaikwad batted humbly, while the usually aggressive Prithvi Shaw (17, 24 balls, 1 six) was cautious.

Gaikwad hit two fours and a six and kept the scoreboard ticking. Tripathi, who came after Shaw’s dismissal to Matthew Fisher, scored without taking much risk.

Ruturaj missed a half-century, fell on a catch and bowled left-arm spinner Ripon (1 for 28).

Medium pacer Lorgan Verjus van Beek (1 for 38) bowled Tripathi before Samson and Patidar took over and saw the team home.

Patidar, who has been in good form lately and has got a ton in the unofficial Test against New Zealand ‘A’, played some charming shots in his unbeaten 45 (41 balls, 7 fours).

Samson ended the match with a huge six.


Speaking after the game, star artiste Thakur said that he was surprised to see New Zealand lose five wickets in the powerplay. “There was something in the air that we could take advantage of as it started at nine in the morning,” he said.

Brief Scores: New Zealand ‘A’ 167 all out in 40.2 overs (Michael Ripon 61, Joe Walker 36, Robert O’Donnell 22, Shardul Thakur 4 for 32, Kuldeep Sen for 30) India ‘A’ 170 for 3 lost to. In 31.5 overs (Rajat Patidar 45 not out, Ruturaj Gaikwad 41, Rahul Tripathi 31, Sanju Samson 29 not out).

Topics mentioned in this article


Indian Lekhak

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.