Connect with us

Sports News

MS Dhoni becomes first captain to lead in 300 T20 matches



MS Dhoni became the only captain to lead in 300 matches in the T20 format.© BCCI/IPL

Former India wicketkeeper-batsman MS Dhoni on Friday became the first captain to lead 300 matches in the T20 format. Dhoni achieved this feat while leading Chennai Super Kings in the final of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at the Dubai International Stadium in UAE. Dhoni has been at the helm for Chennai Super Kings, India, Rising Pune Supergiants – IPL, CL T20, Asia Cup, T20 World Cup – and has won every major T20 trophy in the world. Second on the all-time list is West Indies icon Darren Sammy, who has led Peshawar Zalmi, Rajshahi Kings, St Lucia, St Lucia Stars, St Lucia Zoox, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Titans, West Indies, West Indies XI and Windward Islands. T20 format in 208 matches.

Virat Kohli comes third as he has led Team India and Royal Challengers Bangalore in 185 matches.

On the field, Eoin Morgan won the toss and decided to bowl first against the MS Dhoni-led side. CSK have won the IPL title thrice and after a disappointing 2020 season in the UAE, the team made a remarkable comeback this year and some of the franchise’s fearless cricket saw Dhoni’s men reach the finals.


KKR, on the other hand, were completely down and out in India’s leg as the team won just two games out of seven. However, a trip to the United Arab Emirates changed fortunes.

The inclusion of Venkatesh Iyer has given the batting lineup a much-needed boost and the Kolkata-based franchise is playing fearless cricket. This season also Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana and Rahul Tripathi have done their job.

Topics mentioned in this article

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright Indian Lekhak Limited 2021. All Rights Reserved