Connect with us

Sports News

Neeraj Chopra, Ravi Dahiya, Lovlina Borgohain among 11 recommended for Khel Ratna



Tokyo Olympic gold medalist Neeraj Chopra

Javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra, who became only the second Indian to win an individual Olympic gold at the Tokyo Games, and silver-medallist wrestler Ravi Dahiya were on Wednesday recommended for the Khel Ratna as an unprecedented 11 athletes were selected for the country’s highest sporting event. . Respect.

The selection committee had also recommended Tokyo Olympics bronze medalist boxer Lovlina Borgohain, veteran hockey goalkeeper PR Sreejesh and women’s cricket Test captain Mithali Raj for the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna.

The iconic Sunil Chhetri also became the first footballer in the country to be selected for this honour. Last year, five athletes were selected for the award, while four were selected after the 2016 Rio Games.

The announcement of the National Sports Awards was delayed to consider the performance of para-athletes at the Tokyo Paralympics (24 August to 5 September).

Shooters Avani Lekhara and Manish Narwal, javelin throwers Sumit Antil and shuttlers Pramod Bhagat and Krishna Nagar, who have won a gold each at the Tokyo Paralympics, completed the list of people recommended for the Khel Ratna.

The committee also shortlisted 35 athletes for the Arjuna Award, which is eight more than the number of awardees last year. Cricketer Shikhar Dhawan, Para TT player Bhavna Patel, Para shuttler Suhas Yathiraj and high jumper Nishad Kumar are among those selected for the Arjuna Award.


Members of the men’s hockey team that won the historic bronze medal at the Olympics will also receive the Arjuna Award.

(This story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Topics mentioned in this article


Copyright Indian Lekhak Limited 2021. All Rights Reserved