Connect with us

Sports News

Team India’s hotel changed, Virat Kohli will not stay with teammates before Delhi Test: Report




Due to the G20 summit and wedding season, resulting in large blocks of five-star hotel rooms being reserved, Team India abruptly shifted their hotel to Delhi ahead of the second Test against Australia. The second Test of the series will be held from February 17 to 21 at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. Delhi is playing its first Test match since December 2017. India has a 1-0 lead in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy series.

The Indian cricket team usually stays at Taj Palace or ITC Maurya in Delhi, but according to sources, this time they are staying at Hotel Leela in Karkardooma.

“This time the team is staying in a different hotel which is in another part of Delhi, Hotel Karkardooma as we did not get a chance to stay in ITC Maurya or Taj. This is due to heavy wedding season and G20,” A source told ANI.

Team India’s former captain Virat Kohli is not living with the team. Kohli, whose family members live in Delhi, decided to spend some quality time with his family for a few days at his home in Gurugram.

While India scored 400 runs in the first innings of the opening Test match against Australia, Kohli struggled mightily with the bat, scoring just 12 runs from 26 balls.

Only two sessions of play were needed to get a result on the third day of the first Test as India took a 1-0 lead in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy in Nagpur. After gaining a lead of over 200 runs, India bowled Australia out for 91 in almost a session to win the Test by an innings and 132 runs. Ravindra Jadeja was declared player of the match for his bowling figures of 7-81 and 70 runs along with Willow.

Australia Team:Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Matt Kuhnman, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (VC), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson and David Warner.

Indian team: (for first two Tests) Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat, Ishan Kishan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Umesh Yadav and Suryakumar Yadav.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)

featured video of the day

Why India’s most successful coaching trio is batting for young women cricketers

topics covered in this article