Yuvraj Singh named four “quite deserving” players from India’s ODI, T20I squads for West Indies series

Former India all-rounder Yuvraj Singh shared his thoughts about India’s ODI and T20 squads announced on January 26 for the home series against West Indies. Yuvraj, one of the main architects of India’s last two World Cup victories – 2007 T20 World Cup, 2011 ODI World Cup – took to Twitter to name four most-deserved cricketers from India’s squads. Yuvraj congratulated left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav, spin bowling all-rounder Washington Sundar, Deepak Hooda and opener Ruturaj Gaikwad.

Yuvraj tweeted, “Imkuldeep18 @[email protected] and nice to see Ruturaj’s name in the team.

Kuldeep, who last represented India in the tour of Sri Lanka last year, has recovered from his knee surgery and has found his place back in the squad. This left-handed selection has reunited him with spin-bowling partner Yuzvendra Chahal, who has retained his place in the team despite the indifferent tour of South Africa. Ravi Bishnoi, who earned his maiden call-up for both ODIs and T20Is, is the other wrist spinner in India’s squad for three ODIs and as many T20Is.

Baroda all-rounder Deepak Hooda is another notable inclusion in India’s ODI squad. The hard-hitting right-handed batsman, who bowls off-spin, is yet to make his international debut, but he was earlier part of India’s limited overs team.

Washington Sundar regained his place after a prolonged injury recovery, which had also kept him out of last year’s T20 World Cup. He was included for the South Africa ODIs but was replaced by Jayant Yadav after he tested positive for COVID-19.


With a fully fit Rohit Sharma back in the squad and Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul also present for both ODIs and T20Is, Maharashtra’s Rutura Gaikwad is finding it difficult to get a game but a right-hander in domestic cricket. Impeccable form has ensured him. He has been included in the ODI team for the second consecutive series.

The ODI series, which begins on February 6, will be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, while all three T20Is will be held at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Topics mentioned in this article