Zimbabwe appoints Steve Kirby as bowling coach ahead of T20 World Cup

Zimbabwe appoints Steve Kirby as bowling coach ahead of T20 World Cup

Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) on Thursday confirmed the appointment of Steve Kirby as Zimbabwe’s senior men’s new bowling coach ahead of the T20 World Cup beginning on October 16. Kirby is expected to make his way into the national team before the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. Will start in Australia next month. Kirby, a former first-class cricketer, has served as bowling coach at Somerset until his latest appointment, one of the sides that played in England during his long and successful county career.

The 44-year-old also worked with current Zimbabwe head coach Dave Houghton in Derbyshire.

Commenting on Kirby’s appointment, Hamilton Masakadza, ZC Director of Cricket, said in an official statement released by ZC, “We are delighted to confirm Steve as our bowling coach for the senior men’s team.”

β€œHe has done incredibly well as a player and coach in county cricket over the years and, as we continue to strengthen all aspects of our game and improve our performances at the highest level, We consider ourselves privileged and fortunate to have them as part of our technical set-up,” said Masakadza.

Kirby said that when the opportunity to join Zimbabwe came, he thought it was too good to ignore.

“I aspire to be the best coach I can be, and international cricket is something I really want to be associated with,” he said.

“I’ve worked really well with Dave Houghton before when we were in Derbyshire and when this situation presented itself, I felt like I couldn’t turn it down. The scale of the role is extremely exciting because I just wouldn’t work Along with the National XI, but I will also be involved with the entire route structure across the country.”


Zimbabwe squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup: Ervin Craig (Captain), Burl Ryan, Chakabwa Regis, Chatara Tendai, Evans Bradley, Jongwe Luke, Madande Clive, Madhevere Wesley, Masakadja Wellington, Munyonga Tony, Mujarbani Blessing, Ngarwa Richard, Raza Alexander, Shumba Milton and Williams Sr.

Reserves: Chiwanga Tanaka, Kaia Innocent, Kasuja Kevin, Marumani Tadiwanase and Nyuchi Victor.

Topics mentioned in this article


Indian Lekhak

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.