Connect with us

Uttar Pradesh News

Prayagraj News: Do not confuse Naga sadhu with Aghori at Magh Mela on Sangam beach, there is a lot of difference between the two.



Prayagraj: At present, Magh Mela is organized on the banks of Sangam in Prayagraj. Now, preparations are underway for the Mahashivaratri bath on February 18. In such a situation, there would be a huge crowd of devotees who would not only come to bathe but also cherish the desire to have the darshan of the sages and saints present on the banks of the Sangam. The Naga Sadhus are the center of attraction in Sangam. Outside of Magh Mela, they are rarely seen in society. But due to lack of information, some people consider Naga Sadhus and Aghori Sadhus to be the same, while there is a fundamental difference between the two despite some similarities.

It is true that both are an integral part of Sanatan Dharma. Both regard Lord Shiva as their deity. The costumes of both are also very similar, both look fierce. But beyond these initial similarities, there are many differences between the two.

Creation of Adi Guru Shankar

It is believed that the origin of the Naga Sadhus is that in the 5th century BC, Adiguru Shankaracharya, considering the turbulent social situation of that time, formed such a class of Sadhus who would protect the religion by bearing arms and who had also the knowledge of the Scriptures. Based on this, the sadhus were divided into akhadas. The Nagas have also participated in many wars. For example, when Ahmed Shah Abdali attacked Gokul after Mathura-Vrindavan, at that time the sadhus protected Gokul by fighting his army.

To be a Digambar is identity

Because they don’t wear clothes, they are called Digambar. Digambara literally means one who has the clothes of the senses. They are identified with Trishul, Sword, Conch. They keep dhuni ashes wrapped over their bodies. But the process of initiation into the Naga sect is quite complicated.

Akhand Brahmacharya, Pinddan before initiation

Once one joins the Naga sect, they have to undergo training in unbroken celibacy, meditation, sadhana, yoga and religious rituals for 12 years. They follow celibacy throughout their lives. They give their body before initiation. This symbolizes that he died to the world. Sannyas is his second life. Respecting his knowledge and devotion, only Nagas have the right to bathe in the Ganges at the royal bath first.

Aghori is the seeker of Shiva, the form of Shiva

While Aghori is the seeker of Aghorpanth. It is also called the form of Shiva. They are also worshipers of Shiva like the Naga sadhus. But Aghor Darshan inspires them to live their life as their idol. This means that Aghori should live in the silence of the crematorium like Lord Shiva. Death is the greatest fear in this world, the Aghori live in the crematorium where death is day and night. That is why they are called Aghori for whom nothing is terrible.

their home is the crematorium

The Aghoris also have a master from whom they take initiation or knowledge. But they have neither akhadas nor ashrams. Generally, they take the help of left-wing techniques to raise their consciousness and merge it with the Supreme Consciousness, from where they arouse curiosity and fear in society. Panch Makar is prominent in the left lane system. Panch Makar means alcohol, meat, fish, currency and sexual intercourse. These five elements have great importance in the Aghor cult. But it is not consumed for pleasure but to unite with the Supreme. Unlike the Naga sadhus, celibacy is not a requirement for them. Generally they are not outside other than the crematorium so there is no need for them to reach Sangam beach or Kumbh Mela but if they are going to bathe in the Ganges then it is not there is no restriction on that either. Nagas don’t wear clothes but it is not necessary for Aghoris to give up clothes.