Connect with us

Uttar Pradesh News

Son of SP leader azam khan MLA Abdullah Azam Khan loses seat after conviction in 15-year-old case



Luck now. Samajwadi Party (SP) MP Abdullah Azam (SP MLA) from Swar seat in Rampur district of Uttar Pradesh was disqualified from the state assembly on Wednesday. With this, his seat also became vacant. Abdullah is the son of top PS leader Azam Khan and this is the second time Abdullah has been disqualified. A senior assembly official said, “Abdullah Azam has been disqualified from the assembly after being sentenced to two years by a court in Moradabad in a 15-year-old case. His seat will be considered vacant from February 13th.

Under the Representation of the People Act, if a public representative is sentenced to two years or more, he is immediately disqualified as a member of the Legislative Assembly and cannot stand for election for six years after serving his sentence. .

Significantly, a court in Moradabad sentenced Azam Khan and Abdullah to two years each on Monday in the illegal picketing case in 2008. However, the court also granted bail to both of them. Both were charged with demonstrating and blocking the road on the National Highway in protest against the stopping of their convoy on January 2, 2008 for investigation following the terrorist attack on Camp Central Reserve Police Force located at Rampur on 31st December 2007.

Read this too – Be careful! Great danger hanging over many major cities in the country, including Mumbai, the World Meteorological Department has issued a warning

Abdullah Azam was disqualified for the second time
Abdullah was disqualified for the second time as a member of the House. Earlier in 2020, the High Court in Allahabad overturned his election. The court had said that Abdullah, who won the seat of Swar in the 2017 parliamentary elections, had not reached the minimum age of 25 to stand for election.

Azam Khan, Abdullah’s father and then SP MP from Rampur Sadar seat, was sentenced to three years in prison in October last year by a court in Rampur for his hate speech during the 2019 elections in Lok Sabha, after which he was also disqualified from the assembly. Was disqualified.

BJP’s Akash Saxena won the seat for the first time by beating Azam Khan’s close SP candidate Asim Raja in the Rampur Sadar assembly constituency by-election held on December 8 from last year. Azam Khan was nine times a Member of Parliament for Rampur Assembly Seat.

Tags: Abdullah Azam, azam khan, Rampur News, Samajwadi Festival