we will know Thursday who will be the 15th president of the country

New Delhi, July 20 (PTI) Indians will learn on Thursday who will be the country’s 15th president. Voting for the presidential election took place on July 18 and the counting of votes will begin at 11 a.m. Thursday in Parliament here.

Draupadi Murmu is the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate while Yashwant Sinha is the opposition candidate. There is a high probability of Murmu winning. If she wins, she will become the country’s first female tribal president.

Current President Ram Nath Kovind’s term will end on July 24 and the new president will be sworn in on July 25.

The ballots of all the States were brought to Parliament. Election officials are ready for the counting of votes in Room 63 of Parliament. Strict ballot security is maintained 24 hours a day in this room.

Chief Electoral Officer for the Election, Secretary General of Rajya Sabha PC Modi will oversee the counting of votes on Thursday. The results of the elections should be announced in the evening.

Modi will first give information on election trends after counting all the MPs’ votes, then share the information again after counting the votes of 10 states in alphabetical order.

The vote for the presidential election took place Monday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. in 31 places including the Parliament and 30 centers within the assemblies. “Cross-voting” in favor of Murmu has also been reported in several states. Whips are not issued to MPs during the presidential election.

Members of both Houses of Parliament, the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, and members of the Legislative Assemblies of all states, except appointed MPs, vote in the presidential election.

A total of 4,809 voters, including 776 deputies and 4,033 elected deputies, were eligible to vote in the presidential election. Appointed MPs and MPs and members of the Legislative Council cannot vote on this.

According to the Electoral Commission, more than 99% of voters cast ballots in Monday’s poll. Eight MPs, including Bharatiya party MPs Janata Sunny Deol and Sanjay Dhotre, were unable to vote. Deol has traveled abroad for treatment during the ballot while Dhotre is admitted to intensive care.

Two MPs from BJP and Shiv Sena, Bahujan Samaj Party, Congress, Samajwadi Party and AIMIM did not vote on Monday.

Kovind had won the presidential election of the year 2017 by obtaining 7,02,044 votes out of a total of 10,69,358. His rival Meira Kumar got only 3,67,314 votes.


Indian Lekhak

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *