Connect with us

World News

Strict Quarantine Rules on Omicron Kovid Version for Travelers to India in Japan



Japan has further banned new entries by foreigners from around the world. (file)


In an effort to contain the spread of the COVID-19 variant Omicron, Japan will add India, Greece, Romania and four US states under strict quarantine vigil.

Japanese nationals and foreign residents traveling to Japan from India, Greece, Romania and four US states will undergo stringent quarantine rules from Sunday to control the spread of the Omicron variant, Kyodo News reported.

Foreign residents, as well as Japanese nationals traveling to Japan from Colorado, Hawaii, Minnesota and New York, must spend three days of their two-week quarantine at government-designated facilities, reports Kyodo News.

With Omicron cases emerging in the country to prevent further spread, Chief Cabinet Secretary Hirokazu Matsuno announced the expansion of the list while addressing a press conference on Friday. A government task force decided to control the growing number of new types of cases in Japan.

Countries such as Austria, Ecuador and France are already on the list of mandatory three-day quarantine in government-designated facilities. As Kyodo News reports, many people are being subjected to strict quarantine requirements, such as staying in government-designated facilities for more than 10 days.

The first Omicron case was reported in Japan on Tuesday, making it deny re-entry to all foreigners, including residents with long-term visas, from any of 10 African countries as recently as Widespread infection is likely.

The country has further banned new entries by foreigners from around the world.

(Except for the title, this story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)